1913 Massacre Lyrics

Woody Guthrie Lyrics 1913 Massacre

  Browse by artist name Search Browse by soundtrack
 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

1913 Massacre

by Woody Guthrie. Buy album CD: Other Songs 1 - POO

Take a trip with me in 1913,
To Calumet, Michigan, in the copper country.
I will take you to a place called Italian Hall,
Where the miners are having their big Christmas ball.

I will take you in a door and up a high stairs,
Singing and dancing is heard everywhere,
I will let you shake hands with the people you see,
And watch the kids dance around the big Christmas tree.

You ask about work and you ask about pay,
They'll tell you they make less than a dollar a day,
Working the copper claims, risking their lives,
So it's fun to spend Christmas with children and wives.

There's talking and laughing and songs in the air,
And the spirit of Christmas is there everywhere,
Before you know it you're friends with us all,
And you're dancing around and around in the hall.

Well a little girl sits down by the Christmas tree lights,
To play the piano so you gotta keep quiet,
To hear all this fun you would not realize,
That the copper boss' thug men are milling outside.

The copper boss' thugs stuck their heads in the door,
One of them yelled and he screamed, "there's a fire,"
A lady she hollered, "there's no such a thing.
Keep on with your party, there's no such thing."

A few people rushed and it was only a few,
"It's just the thugs and the scabs fooling you,"
A man grabbed his daughter and carried her down,
But the thugs held the door and he could not get out.

And then others followed, a hundred or more,
But most everybody remained on the floor,
The gun thugs they laughed at their murderous joke,
While the children were smothered on the stairs by the door.

Such a terrible sight I never did see,
We carried our children back up to their tree,
The scabs outside still laughed at their spree,
And the children that died there were seventy-three.

The piano played a slow funeral tune,
And the town was lit up by a cold Christmas moon,
The parents they cried and the miners they moaned,
"See what your greed for money has done."

sheet music Buy Woody Guthrie sheet music
cd Buy Woody Guthrie CDs
guitar tabs Woody Guthrie guitar tabs
Album: Other Songs 1 - POO Lyrics
cd Buy "Other Songs 1 - POO" CD
  1. 1913 Massacre
  2. A Dollar Down
  3. Ach Hätte Ich Ein Bierchen (freie übersetzung)
  4. Aginst Th' Law
  5. Airline To Heaven
  6. All Work Together
  7. All You Fascists
  8. Another Man's Done Gone
  9. At My Window Sad & Lonely
  10. Belle Starr
  11. Billy The Kid
  12. Birds & Ships
  13. Black Wind Blowing
  14. Brown Eyes
  15. Bury Me Beneath The Willow
  16. Cadillac Eight
  17. California Stars
  18. Christ For President
  19. Clean-O
  20. Columbus Stockade
  21. Dance A Little Longer
  22. Danville Girl, No. 2
  23. Dear Mrs. Roosevelt
  24. Deportee
  25. Do Re Mi
  26. Don't You Push Me Down
  27. Dust Bowl Blues
  28. Dust Bowl Refugee
  29. Dust Can't Kill Me
  30. Dust Pneumonia Blues
  31. Dust Storm Disaster
  32. Dusty Old Dust (So Long It's Been Good To Know Yuh)
  33. East Texas Red
  34. Eisler On The Go
  35. Get Along Little Doggies
  36. God And Joseph
  37. God's Promise
  38. Goin' Down The Road
  39. Guitar Blues
  40. Hang Knot
  41. Hangknot, Slipknot
  42. Hanuka Bell
  43. Hanuka Dance
  44. Hanuka Gelt
  45. Hanuka Tree
  46. Hanuka's Flame
  47. Happy Joyous Hanuka
  48. Hard Travelin'
  49. Heaven
  50. Hesitating Beauty
  51. Holy Ground
  52. Honeyky Hanuka
  53. Hoodoo Voodoo
  54. Howdido
  55. I Ain't Got No Home
  56. I Ain't Got No Home In This World Anymore
  57. I Guess I Planted
  58. I Ride An Old Paint
  59. I Take My Penny
  60. I've Got To Know
  61. Ilsa Koch
  62. Ingrid Bergman
  63. Jackhammer Blues
  64. Jig Along Home
  65. Joe Dimaggio Done It Again
  66. Just The Facts Maam
  67. Keep That Oil A-Rollin'
  68. Little Boxes Beatnik Version
  69. Little Seed
  70. Ludlow Massacre
  71. Mail Myself To You
  72. Mean Talking Blues
  73. Mermaid's Avenue
  74. My Dolly
  75. My Flying Saucer
  76. My Peace
  77. Nine Hundred Miles
  78. Nine Hundred Miles (Instrumental)
  79. Ninety Mile Wind
  80. Oklahoma Hills
  81. One By One
  82. Peace Call
  83. Plane Wreck At Los Gatos
  84. Poor Lazarus


Song words / lyrics from Other Songs 1 - POO album CD are property & copyright of their owners and provided for educational purposes.
DMCA Policy | Add/correct lyrics  |  Request lyrics  |  Links  |  Privacy | Contact us    © STLyrics.com 2002 -