Me & hank & jumpin' jack flash Lyrics

Stuart Marty Lyrics Me & hank & jumpin' jack flash

  Browse by artist name Search Browse by soundtrack
 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Me & hank & jumpin' jack flash

by Stuart Marty. Buy album CD: Other Songs DOI - Y

Written by Marty Stuart

Last night I dreamed I went to Hillbilly Heaven, oh what a beautiful sight
St. Peter come up to me and he said "now Marty who do you want to see"
So I began to think
I said "why don't you call up old Hank Williams and see if he's free"
'Cause Hank saw the world from a Cadillac
And he carried them Lovesick Blues right on his back
Ah yeah

Sure as I was dreaming, sure as I was born
Around my neck came this long skinny arm
And he said, "Howdy Hoss, my name is Hank, now what brings you here"
So I began to think

I said "Hank brother, you've seen it all.
You've seen 'em come and go and you've seen 'em rise and fall
And right now country music's got more singers than I believe I've ever seen
So many people got to follow out their dream"
"But I feel different," I said, "'cause I'm a natural born cat
I'm country to the bone, but I don't wear no hat"
Oh no, two three

Said "I started with Lester back in '72
All I wanted to be was a little different like him and you"
He said "whoa now, it just takes a little longer to make it if you're different, I guess
But you just sing what's in your heart and God's gonna do the rest
Just be what you are at all times and just tell the folks out there the truth
And that ain't gonna cost you a dime
But if you plan to be different son, you're just rolling the dice
And you know you ain't the first one to pay that price
'Cause there was me and Elvis and there was Bocephus too
There was Waylon and Willie and there was Bill Monroe
And I guess you know about ole Johnny Cash
And I think what the world needs right now is a Jumpin' Jack Flash"

Up in Hillbilly Heaven I saw Keith Whitley, I saw Patsy Cline
I saw Reba McEntire's band, they were all friends of mine
And I began to tremble and I began look
I knew I was dreaming but I just couldn't wake up
Then out of nowhere came this long Cadillac
The driver said "Now come on there Hank we gotta take you back
Thirty minutes before your next show
We're running behind so we gotta go"
He said "Marty, I tell you what you do.
You just go on back down there and you make us proud
And remember wherever you go
There's a little hillbilly in every crowd"
And he got in that old car and he drove off slow
But right here is what he said before he shut that door

sheet music Buy Stuart Marty sheet music
cd Buy Stuart Marty CDs
guitar tabs Stuart Marty guitar tabs
Album: Other Songs DOI - Y Lyrics
cd Buy "Other Songs DOI - Y" CD
  1. Doin' my time
  2. Don't be cruel
  3. Don't leave her lonely too long
  4. Down home
  5. Draggin' around these chains of love
  6. Far away
  7. Farmer's blues
  8. Goin' nowhere fast
  9. Hey baby
  10. Hobo's prayer
  11. Honky tonk crowd
  12. Honky tonkin's what i do best
  13. I ain't giving up on love
  14. I don't love nobody
  15. I'll be there for you
  16. I'll love you forever if i want to
  17. I'm a one woman man
  18. I'm blue, i'm lonesome
  19. If i ain't got you
  20. If there ain't there ought'a be
  21. Just between you and me
  22. Kiss me, i'm gone
  23. Me & hank & jumpin' jack flash
  24. Mirrors don't lie
  25. Now that's country
  26. Red, red wine and cheatin' songs
  27. Rocket ship
  28. Shape i'm in
  29. Shelter from the storm
  30. Since i don't have you
  31. So many people
  32. Soldier's joy
  33. Somebody loves you darlin'
  34. Sometimes the pleasure's worth the pain
  35. Sweet love
  36. Thanks to you
  37. That's what love's about
  38. That's when you'll know it's over
  39. The king of dixie
  40. The mississippi mudcat and sister sheryl crow
  41. The sun's coming up
  42. The whiskey ain't workin'
  43. This one's gonna hurt you
  44. Too much month
  45. Watson's blues
  46. Wishful thinkin'
  47. You can't stop love


Song words / lyrics from Other Songs DOI - Y album CD are property & copyright of their owners and provided for educational purposes.
DMCA Policy | Add/correct lyrics  |  Request lyrics  |  Links  |  Privacy | Contact us    © 2002 -