The Life Auction Lyrics

Strawbs Lyrics The Life Auction

  Browse by artist name Search Browse by soundtrack
 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

The Life Auction

by Strawbs. Buy album CD: Other Songs KEE - THE

Row upon row
Of drab colourless houses
Bowing low
Before high rise blocks
Varicosed housewives
With sweaty armpits
Scrimping and scrubbing
Their husbands' socks
A limp polluted flag
Flutters sadly in its death throes
While crippled trees in leg irons
Wearily haul themselves
Through another diluted acid day.

The Auction

The vultures stood outside the gate
Quite unaware that fate
Is unaware to those who wait
In vain. Their pride
Betrays the means of their destruction.
Take my rings and trinkets bright
But leave my eyes which give me light
My tongue which gives me leave to speak
The rest is yours and welcome.

The wolves will suck the bones they bought
Those over which they fought
Their elders always having taught
Them envy. Their greed
Explains their total lack of conscience.

The auctioneer is seldom lost
Our paths have sometimes crossed
But he has never failed to count the cost
Of passion. Desire
Is the whole point of his existence.

Now you have given cause to bleed
You join the wolf pack as you feed
But now you find yourself in need
Of comfort. But peace of mind
Has no home for the loveless.

sheet music Buy Strawbs sheet music
cd Buy Strawbs CDs
guitar tabs Strawbs guitar tabs
Album: Other Songs KEE - THE Lyrics
cd Buy "Other Songs KEE - THE" CD
  1. Keep On Trying
  2. Lady Fuchsia
  3. Lady Fuschia
  4. Lay A Little Light On Me/Hero's Theme
  5. Lay Down
  6. Lemon Pie
  7. Let It Rain
  8. Let It Rock
  9. Let's Keep The Devil Outside
  10. Little Sleepy
  11. Lonesome Tears
  12. Lookin' Better Every Beer
  13. Looking For Someone To Love
  14. Looking Out My Back Door
  15. Lucky Charm
  16. Lucky Charm (Ooh Wee Suzy)
  17. Lust 'n' Love
  18. Martin Luther King's Dream
  19. Midnight Sun
  20. Might As Well Be On Mars
  21. Morning Glory
  22. My Friend Peter
  23. My Heart Is A Liar
  24. My Heart Is A Liarlet's Go Faster
  25. My One Desire
  26. Mystery Train
  27. New Beginnings
  28. New World
  29. Nina Lives
  30. No Return
  31. Not All The Flowers Grow
  32. Nothing Else Will Do
  33. October To May
  34. Oh So Sleepy
  35. Oh, How She Changed
  36. On Growing Older
  37. On My Way
  38. Or Am I Dreaming
  39. Out In The Cold
  40. Part Of The Union
  41. Pavan
  42. Pieces Of 79 And 15
  43. Poor Jimmy Wilson
  44. Queen Of Dreams
  45. Reckless
  46. Ringing Down The Years
  47. Rockabilly Rules Ok
  48. Rockabilly World
  49. Rockin' All Over The Place
  50. Round And Round
  51. Sad Young Man
  52. Sail Away To The Sea
  53. Sealed With A Traitor's Kiss
  54. Sexy & 17 (live)
  55. Sexy And 17
  56. Sheep
  57. Shine On Silver Sun
  58. Shotgun Baby
  59. Silver Smile
  60. Simple Visions
  61. Sleepwalk
  62. Slip Slip Slippin' In
  63. So Close and Yet So Far Away
  64. So Shall Our Love Die
  65. Somethin' Else
  66. Something For Nothing
  67. Something's Wrong With My Radio
  68. Song For Alex
  69. Starshine/Angel Wine
  70. Starting Over
  71. Stay Awhile With Me
  72. Stone Cold Is The Woman's Heart
  73. Stood Up
  74. Storm The Embassy
  75. Stormy Down
  76. Strange Day Over The Hill
  77. Stray Cat Strut
  78. Struck By Lightning
  79. Summertime Blues
  80. Sweetling
  81. Taking A Chance
  82. Tears
  83. Tell Me What You See In Me
  84. Thank You
  85. That Which Once Was Mine
  86. That's The Way It Ends
  87. That's When The Crying Starts
  88. The Actor
  89. The Antique Suite
  90. The Battle
  91. The Desert Song
  92. The Dirty Boogie
  93. The Flower And The Young Man
  94. The Golden Salamander
  95. The Hangman And The Papist
  96. The Journey's End
  97. The King
  98. The Last Resort
  99. The Life Auction
  100. The Man Who Called Himself Jesus


Song words / lyrics from Other Songs KEE - THE album CD are property & copyright of their owners and provided for educational purposes.
DMCA Policy | Add/correct lyrics  |  Request lyrics  |  Links  |  Privacy | Contact us    © 2002 -