Gentle on my mind Lyrics

David Houston Lyrics Gentle on my mind

  Browse by artist name Search Browse by soundtrack
 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Gentle on my mind

by David Houston. Buy album CD: Other Songs A - ME

It's knowing that your door is always open and your path is free to walk
That makes me tend to leave my sleeping bag rolled up
And stashed behind your couch
And it's knowing I'm not shacked by forgotten words and bons
And the ink stains that have dried upon some line
That keeps you in the back roads by the rivers of my mem'ry
That keeps you ever gentle on my mind
It's not clinging to the rocks and I'd be planted on their columns now that bind me
Or something that somebody said because they thought we fit together walking
It's just knowing that the world will not be cursing or forgiving
When I walk along some railroad track and find
That you're movin' on the back roads by the rivers of my mem'ry
For hours you're just gentle on my mind
Though the wheet fields and the clothes lines
And the junk yards and the highways come between us
And some other woman cryin' to her mother cause she turned and I was gone
I still might run in silence tears of joy might stain my face
And a summer sun might burn me till I'm blind
But not to where I cannot see you walking on the back roads
By the rivers flowin' gentle on my mind
I dipped my cup of soap back from a gurglin' cracklin' caltron in some train yard
My beard a roughen coal pile and a dirty hat pulled low across my face
Through cupped hands round a tin can I pretend I hold you to my breast and find
That you're wavin' from the back roads by the rivers of my mem'ry
Ever smiling ever gentle on my mind

sheet music Buy David Houston sheet music
cd Buy David Houston CDs
guitar tabs David Houston guitar tabs
Album: Other Songs A - ME Lyrics
cd Buy "Other Songs A - ME" CD
  1. Already it's heaven
  2. Baby baby (i know you're a lady)
  3. Back in baby's arms
  4. By the time i get to phoenix
  5. Danny boy
  6. David's song
  7. Don't mention tomorrow
  8. Gentle on my mind
  9. Have a little faith
  10. Hey good lookin'
  11. Honey
  12. I don't love you anymore
  13. I guess i'm crazy (for loving you)
  14. I love you so much it hurts
  15. I thought i'd die
  16. I'll take my chances with you
  17. I'm down to my last i love you
  18. I'm not man enough
  19. I'm so afraid of losing you again
  20. I've got a tiger by the tail
  21. If god can forgive me (why can't you)
  22. It's all over
  23. Just a little lovin' (will go a long way)
  24. Laura (what he's got that i ain't got)
  25. Let's build a world together
  26. Livin' in a house full of love
  27. Love's gonna live here
  28. Mental journey


Song words / lyrics from Other Songs A - ME album CD are property & copyright of their owners and provided for educational purposes.
DMCA Policy | Add/correct lyrics  |  Request lyrics  |  Links  |  Privacy | Contact us    © 2002 -